Book Review: A Monster Calls

Title: A Monster Calls

Author: Patrick Ness

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd.

Published: 2011

Pages: 237

Price: £3.99

ISBN: 9781406361803

Summary:

Conor has the same dream every night, ever since his mother first fell ill, ever since she started the treatments that don’t quite seem to be working. But tonight is different. Tonight, when he wakes, there’s a visitor at his window. It’s ancient, elemental, a force of nature. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor. It wants the truth.

Review:

 I absolutely L-O-V-E-D this book, it made me cry my eyes out (shutup mom it’s not JUST a book okay). I honestly don’t know where to start with this review!

The idea was truly beautiful and I admire Patrick Ness so much for taking the idea – originally thought of by Siobhan Dowd – and rather than trying to immitate Dowd’s writing style he simply did her idea justice.

You can’t help but sympathise with Conor and his situation. Listening to his perspective was tear-jerking – knowing his mother was ill and trying to deal with it, especially as a 13 year old boy, is extremely difficult and by the story being written solely from his point of view it creates a real picture of the world. Teachers sympathising so much with Conor that they don’t bother asking for homework, over-protective parents who promise everything will be okay and bullies who, frankly, don’t give a shit. It’s a very real representation of the world to a teenager and was done so in a really natural way.

I love the monster. I love how his stories always have a message, even if the message is hidden at first. But what I love the most about the monster, is that the monster is just Conor’s conscience and that is probably the most effective thing out of the whole book. Conor knows what’s going to happen with his mother but he didn’t want to admit it to himself, forcing his conscience into a “physical” being.

Another thing I loved about the book is how easy it was to read! Personally I love short chapters a lot because I tend to read them a lot faster. The story flowed really well. The first time I picked it up and started reading it, I ended up reading over 100 pages without even realising it – these types of books are my favourite.

Inevitably, I ended up crying my eyes out reading the book. (I was sat in my back garden crying and my mom proceeded to laugh at me for crying at a book – IT WAS EMOTIONAL OKAY) Dare I say, I think it made me cry more than The Fault in Our Stars did, and that was A LOT.

If you haven’t already read this masterpiece I highly suggest you do! I can’t wait for the film to be released, hopefully it does the book justice!

My Review: 5/5

Let me know what you thought of A Monster Calls in the comments!

Leave a Reply

