Book review: Wuthering Heights

Title: Wuthering Heights

Author: Emily Bronte

Publisher: White’s books

Published: 2010

Pages: 355

Price: £6.99

ISBN: 9780956266842

 

Summary:

Wuthering Heights is a wild, passionate story of the intense and almost demonic love between Catherine Earnshaw and Heathcliff, a foundling adopted by Catherine’s father. After Mr Earnshaw’s death, Heathcliff is bullied and humiliated by Catherine’s brother Hindley and wrongly believing that his love for Catherine is not reciprocated, leaves Wuthering Heights, only to return years later as a wealthy and polished man. He proceeds to exact a terrible revenge for his former miseries.

Review:

I first attempted reading this about 2 years ago because one of my best friends in high school was obsessed with it but, after forcing myself to read half of it, I finally gave up because frankly – it bored the hell out of me. But here I am, waiting for my second year of university to start and this book pops up on my reading list. My first thought – I hate my life. But I persevered and started reading it again and, after a week of hell, I finally finished it.

I’m probably being far too harsh about this book. I completely understand why people would love this book – written by one of the most influential women writers of all time and a true classic – and I’m not querying that at all! I probably didn’t enjoy reading it because of the language used. At times I found it difficult to understand and would have to re-read a paragraph a few times before really understanding it.

By the end of the book, I did start to enjoy it a bit more – understanding the characters, the plot and other things more clearly. The characters are all horrible people, in some way or another they do something during the book which I hated. I find it hard to enjoy a book if there’s not a character I’m rooting for and whom I can relate to. Part of the unrelatable characters, I’m assuming, is that the characters in the novel were living in a different century to myself so their lives were significantly different. But even so, Cathy (mainly the mother but also sometimes the daughter) was a selfish and spoilt character, I couldn’t stand her!

Overall, I would consider re-reading this text after my university course in the hopes that my views would have changed and I would enjoy the story a lot more. If you enjoy classic novels then this is definitely one you need to read but I would also recommend this to people who are curious about the novel so you can form your own opinions.

My rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

