Book review: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Title: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Author: J.K. Rowling

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Published: 1999 (original) This edition: 2014

Pages: 462

Price: £5.99 from Waterstones

ISBN: 9781408855676

9781408855676

Summary:

When the Knight Bus crashes through the darkness and screeches to a halt in front of him, it’s the start of another far from ordinary year at Hogwarts for Harry Potter. Sirius Black, escaped mass-murderer and follower of Lord Voldemort, is on the run – and they say he is coming after Harry. In his first ever Divination class, Professor Trelawney sees an omen of death in Harry’s tea leaves …But perhaps most terrifying of all are the Dementors patrolling the school grounds, with their soul-sucking kiss.

Review:

I can’t believe I am only reading these books for the first time – shame on me! I have fell completely in love with Hogwarts all over again.

Before I started the Harry Potter books, I had convinced myself I didn’t need to read them because they were “the same as the films”. But I was wrong. And I’m glad I was wrong because there has been so much more detail added to the already beautiful world.

The main example of this is that I didn’t know that James Potter was an animagus which I’m surprised isn’t mentioned in the film. I know that there’s some mention of a link to James with a stag but I’m sure that was his patronus? Please correct me if I’m wrong!

I love how easy these books are to read – it’s very easy to dip in and out of them if you’re busy or to sit down and to read it in one chunk. J.K. Rowling is truly an amazing artist and her words touch both children and adults.

As I was reading this book, I loved to see how the different characters were developing – especially Hermione. My favourite scene in the film – and now the book – is when she hits Malfoy. It never fails to bring a smile to my face and is the true starting point of my love for the character. I also love Fred and George! Although they’re not strictly main characters, I just love them and their playfulness that they bring to the story.

There’s honestly not a lot more I can say about this wonderful book because I can’t physically put it into words. Every one who has read this book knows the greatness of it – as with all of Rowling’s other books! I can’t wait to continue on this magical journey with Harry and the rest of Hogwarts.

My rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

