Book review: The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy

Title: The Summer I Turned Pretty/It’s Not Summer Without You/We’ll Always Have Summer

Author: Jenny Han

Publisher: Penguin

Published: 2014

Pages: 880

Price: £4.99 on amazon

ISBN: 9780141353821

22317828._UY200_

Summary:

Belly has always lived for the summertime because it means all her favorite things: swimming, the beach and the Fisher boys, Conrad and Jeremiah. She has spent every summer with them at Cousins Beach for as long as she can remember. She has always been in love with Conrad and finally, one summer, it seems like he might have feelings for her too. But it turns out, so does Jeremiah.

As the summers go on, Belly has to choose between two brothers who love her as she comes to the realization that she will have to break one of their hearts.

Review:

I cried a lot during this series of books – mainly because of the character of Susannah and her battle with cancer – things like that seriously get to me. But other times, I found myself crying because I felt sorry for Belly. She was deeply in love with Conrad and he was just a jerk to her – something I can completely relate to.

I bought this series on my kindle (was a bargain!) after reading the TATBILB series by Jenny Han and I’m so glad I did. These books capture the innocence of a first love but also how complicated and stressful love can be. In my opinion, this book couldn’t be more realistic if it tried.

The character of Belly, I thought, could be quite annoying – but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. She’s a 15 year old girl dealing with being in love – of course she’s going to be annoying! But as the series progresses, you do see her start to mature more, particularly in the third book. She is still quite naive – agreeing to marry Jeremiah after finding out he cheated – but soon realises the relationship isn’t right.

Now I’m going to be honest – I am, and all the way through, have been team Conrad. Sure, he could be an ass, but so could Jeremiah. There was just something about Conrad that, although he didn’t admit his love for Belly until the final book, I just knew that they were destined for each other.

At the end of the final book, there is a chapter where Belly reads the note Susannah had left for her wedding day. You can see the writing style change, talking more formally, which I think was very effective as it showed how Belly had grown and changed.

This series was the perfect summer read and once I picked it up, I couldn’t put it down. Another beautiful story by the amazing Miss Jenny Han.

My rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

