Book review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before & P.S I Still Love You

Title: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S I Still Love You

Author: Jenny Han

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Published: 2014/2015

Pages: 736

Price: £9.09 for both on Amazon

ISBN: TATBILB – 9781407149073

PSISLY: 9781407157986

9781407149073 9781407157986

Summary:

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once? In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing

Review:

I bought To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before because of how many people on my instagram feed were reading it and loving it but when I started it, I was sceptical. I wasn’t sure what to expect but I had low expectations. These were soon blown out of the water! As soon as I picked it up and started reading it – I was hooked! So hooked in fact, that I finished it within a day and immediately bought the sequel, P.S I Still Love You, on my kindle.

Although the main theme of the books was predominantly love and relationships, throughout there is a strong sense of family. I loved reading about the Song girls and how they coped together with their life ever since the death of their mother. Their dad is so unbelievably cute – I love his character.

Then comes the boys. At first, I was rooting for Josh. Margot annoyed me and I thought that Josh and Lara Jean would be super cute together but that soon changed once I saw the relationship between Josh and Margot more. Sure, Margot was annoying, but she is just a teenage girl who loves a boy so much, she let him go.

Then there was Peter K. God I think he is another fictional boy I am in love with. Sure, in the second book he kind of turned into a major a-hole, but that’s what boys are like – Peter K is real. With the introduction of John Ambrose McClaren as well, Peter just seemed to be an even bigger jerk. But I still love him. I think he was just scared and was subconsciously pushing Lara Jean away even though he loved her. THAT’S WHAT BOYS DO!

The ending of P.S I Still Love You was left very open… There are lots of questions in my mind about the plot and the characters so I’m just going to sit here quietly and pray for a third book. These books made me fall in love with Jenny Han and she is now, most definitely, on my list of favourite authors.

My rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

