Book review: Life with a Sprinkle of Glitter

Title: Life with a Sprinkle of Glitter

Author: Louise Pentland

Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK Ltd.

Published: 2015

Pages: 256

Price: £6.49 from Waterstones

ISBN: 9781471149726

51QulgvK9wL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Brief summary:

In Louise’s first book she offers her advice and guidance on subjects such as make-up, meeting celebrities, bullying and love. Split up into many chapters and set out beautifully, it is easy for the reader to dip in and out of chapters or to read it all at once – showing how wonderful life can be with just a sprinkle of glitter.

Review:

Before I start on the book I want to admit something. Louise Pentland is one of my favourite people – ever. I’ve watched her youtube video for years and as soon as I heard about this book, I pre-ordered it. And on the 1st July (a day early, thank you Waterstones) it was finally in my hands.

At first glance it may be one of the prettiest books I have ever owned. Also, a book with a built-in bookmark are always an instant winner for me! So once I was able to sit down and start reading – I was hooked – and 7 hours later, I was finished.

So the book is split into 4 main categories; Glitz, Create, Need to knows and All about love. Each of these were then divided up further to discuss a range of topics. Each providing Louise’s own (and frankly entertaining) experiences and her top tips for the reader. With cute little illustrations to accompany her words, it was a truly lovely read and was nothing too heavy; a perfect summer read.

The size of the book makes it seem almost like a journal; easy enough to be carried in a hang bag to be referred back to in times of need. The entire thing screams ‘LOUISE!’, easy to tell that she’s put so much of herself into it.

My favourite section has to be the one about body confidence. After seeing #LouiseLIVE and tearing up a bit at her body confidence section, I enjoyed reading more about it. She doesn’t claim to know all the answers –  which is something I love about her – but instead shares with the reader tips that have helped her.

This book is something I think all teenage girls should read but I would also highly recommend it to mothers too as it’s not too childish to be loved by all.

My rating: 4.5/5

One thought on “Book review: Life with a Sprinkle of Glitter

Leave a Reply

